An Introduction

Hello!

My name is Alena Poulin and I am a journalism student at UF. I started this blog to talk about my experiences at different museums, but I figured I would tell you a little bit about myself first.

To start with, one of my favorite colors is an immaculate marble-white. Now that may seem strange but the color reminds me of the pristine marble columns that adorn some of some of my favorite museums, welcoming you into their worlds of knowledge and discovery.

Some of my fondest memories from when I was growing up are of visiting museums with my family, and of eventually getting left behind by said family as I strived to read every bit of information on every plaque in every hall before moving on to the next. Whether it is a museum of art, science, or natural history, I love them all equally and make it my goal to travel to as many as possible.

However, my love of museums is not my only defining feature. I am from Orlando, Fl, and am  currently a junior at the University of Florida. With two UF alumni as parents, I grew up as a fan of the Gators, and so I was incredibly excited to get the opportunity to attend school here as well. I also volunteer regularly with the Girl Scouts and act in plays put on by the UF Shakespeare in the Park club, and am part of the UF chapter of Phi Sigma Pi, a national honor fraternity. Finally, I volunteer as an exhibit docent at the Florida Museum of Natural History on campus in order to take my love of museums to the next level by sharing it with museum patrons.

After graduation, my goal is to attend graduate school and to pursue a master’s degree in Museum Studies before eventually starting a career as a curator, in the educational programming department, or doing marketing and P.R. for a museum.  For now though, I’ve created this blog to share my museum experiences with others, as well as tips for what I think are the best ways to get the most out of your museum experience.

Leave a Reply

